LAEDC is effective because of the leadership of our members.  Please take a moment to meet the individuals below!


Dr. Dianne F. Harrison, President, CSUN

Dr. Dianne F. Harrison will be the first academic leader elected to serve as Chair of LAEDC, at a time when understanding and preparing for the changing face of work is an increasing priority for the organization and its education, government and private sector members, especially with LAEDC’s ideation and launch of the Center for a Competitive Workforce with LA County’s 19 community colleges, the Los Angeles Orange County Regional Consortia, and the LA Area Chamber of Commerce.  As one of the founders of the “CSU5” collaboration of the five Cal State Universities in LA County, Dr. Harrison rallied support for providing funding, alongside many private sector and philanthropic organizations, for the implementation of the LA County Strategic Plan for Economic Development (2016-2020), which became Propel LA, located at the LAEDC.  Dr. Harrison has also been a vocal promoter of the role of innovation in our economy and in talent development, through CSUN investments in technology incubation.  Dr. Harrison is also known for her strong commitment to community and for building strong partnerships with public-, nonprofit- and private- sector organizations, which fits the LAEDC’s collaborative economic development approach. Dr. Harrison began her appointment as president of CSUN in June 2012. Prior to CSUN, Dr. Harrison served as president of California State University, Monterey Bay, and prior to that she worked at Florida State University.

LAEDC Vice Chair

Steven A. Nissen, Senior Vice President / Legal & Government Affairs, NBCUniversal

Steve Nissen is Senior Vice President of Legal & Government Affairs at NBCUniversal.  In that capacity, he is primarily responsible for developing and coordinating for the company a comprehensive state and local government agenda, including anti-piracy, intellectual property protection, tax, digital, broadcast, film production, land use and government compliance.  In addition to his responsibilities at NBCUniversal, for 2014 Mr. Nissen is Chair of the Board of the Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute, FilmLA and the Central City Association.  He also serves on the Executive Committees of the Los Angeles Police Foundation, Valley Industry & Commerce Association (VICA) and Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce, where he was honored as Chamber Board Member of the Year for 2013.

Immediate Past Chair

Eric Rowen, Principal Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig LLP

Eric Rowen focuses his practice on litigation involving real estate, real estate financing, commercial real estate leasing, real estate related bankruptcies, and trusts holding vast real estate assets. Mr. Rowen has tremendous experience with litigation and pre-litigation counseling involving securitized loan portfolios, bond financings, loan and loan portfolio workouts and restructurings, construction financing, partnership and joint venture disputes, complex eminent domain, lease disputes, entitlements (including CEQA), title issues, title insurance, and real property related environmental matters (such as federal and state superfund and private cost recovery actions). He has extensive bench and jury trial, law and motion and deposition experience in matters handled by federal (including bankruptcy), state, and appellate courts, and via arbitration and other alternative dispute resolution arenas.

Past LAEDC Chairs include


2019/2019 Eric Rowen, Principal Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig LLP

2017/2018   Jodie Lesh, SVP, National Delivery System Strategy, Planning and Design at Kaiser Permanente

2016/2017   Chris Martin, CEO and Chairman of AC Martin and Martin Project Management

2015/2016   Praful Kulkarni, founding partner of gkk works

2014/2015   Raul A. Anaya, President, Bank of America – Greater Los Angeles Region

2013/2014   Lew Horne, President, CBRE Inc., Greater Los Angeles and Orange County Region

2012/ 2013   Christopher Carey, Chief Financial Officer, City National Bank

2011/ 2012   Robert Hertzberg, California State Senator and former Speaker of the California State Assembly

2010/2011   Maura O’Connor, O’Connor Cochran LLP

2009/2010   Lloyd Greif, USC Lloyd Greif Center for Entrepreneurial Studies